2014 hyundai accent accessory power not working and radio

Discussion in 'Hyundai Accent' started by Hawkeye, Feb 16, 2020.

  1. Hawkeye

    Hawkeye

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    My 2014 accent is having an odd issue. The power to my accessory functions is not there and the same to the display screen on my radio, the side lights on the head unit work. I have replaced the fuses necessary that are in the cabin of the car and it worked for a bit and stopped again. Any ideas?
     
    Hawkeye, Feb 16, 2020
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Hawkeye

    avisitor

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    Well, something caused the fuse to blow.
    It may have done it again??
     
    avisitor, Feb 16, 2020
    #2
    Hawkeye likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Hawkeye

    Hawkeye

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did check them again and they dont have any damage. When the problem first started I could hit the side of the radio and they would come back on. Now, that wont work. It seems to be a loose ground, maybe a device that gives them both power being loose or something like that. I havent traced all of the wires yet.
     
    Hawkeye, Feb 16, 2020
    #3
  4. Hawkeye

    avisitor

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    Just guessing, could it be the radio?
    You haven't mentioned anything about dash lights going out
    Only the radio is giving you trouble??
     
    avisitor, Feb 17, 2020
    #4
    Hawkeye likes this.
  5. Hawkeye

    Hawkeye

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its side lights for the buttons work but the accessory power goes out when the radio power is out. Whatever the problem is, its affecting two areas at once so I do not believe it is just a radio issue
     
    Hawkeye, Feb 17, 2020
    #5
  6. Hawkeye

    avisitor

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    Have seen a few times where corrosion in the engine bay fuse box has caused head lights to blink
    Could water be getting in to the dash fuse box??
    Does moving some wires under the dash do anything to the power to radio and lights??
     
    avisitor, Feb 18, 2020
    #6
    Hawkeye likes this.
  7. Hawkeye

    Hawkeye

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is entirely possible. I moved the wires around and didnt see anything flicker. I dont think the fuses for these 2 functions are getting power. I'm going to test that when I get off of work. Saw a video of a guy fixing this on like a 2003 model. He had to tighten something on the steering column to ground out wires to give power back to the radio and accessories. I think he called it the ignition switch. I'll check the fuses under the hood when it stops raining.
     
    Hawkeye, Feb 18, 2020
    #7
  8. Hawkeye

    avisitor

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    Hyundai are known for bad grounds. Think you may be right.
     
    avisitor, Feb 19, 2020
    #8
    Hawkeye likes this.
  9. Hawkeye

    Hawkeye

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I checked out all kinds of stuff yesterday. Checked wire harness ends for power to accessories and radio and they both have good ground and power. Seems like the reciever is actually busted. When the radio is actually in its position, I dont get power to my accessories. Going to buy a new reciever and see what happens.
     
    Hawkeye, Mar 27, 2020
    #9
  10. Hawkeye

    avisitor

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    Good luck
     
    avisitor, Mar 28, 2020
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.